## Ras Dau Gopa - Aberystwyth Twin Peaks - 14th October 2012

There is a tradition with this race – always held on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Sunday in October.

And the rain stopped. And the clouds parted. And the sun shone. And it was time. Runners picked up their kit and headed to the far west, to converge by the sea for the 7<sup>th</sup> Aberystwyth Twin Peaks.

Proceedings started with the Junior 2mile event. This tough race began with short run alongside the beach before a punishing 400ft climb that winds back and forth to the top of Constitution Hill. In the crystal clear light we could make out the runners as they crested the peak. A short flat respite, with views along the length of Cardigan Bay towards Snowdonia and the Cambrian Mountains brings the runners to a rapid descent on road back to towards the Promenade and the finish. The three runners, all from local clubs, finished strongly and with excellent times:

 $1^{st}$  U16 Boy – Llyr p Einion - Aberystwyth AC – 16:22.  $1^{st}$  U13 Boy – Aled Jones – Aberystwyth AC – 17:44  $2^{nd}$  U13 Boy – Daniel Willoughby – Sarn Helen – 20:18.

As the main race approached the clouds rolled over and gentle rain fell – just enough to cool the runners before they set off.



Setting off on the first part of the race the runners follow the length of the promenade, circling through the harbour and marina to come to the first ascent, 450ft on trails that skirt around Pen Dinas before a final ascent to the top. Well out of site of the crowd, radio reports told us that Austin Davies of Brecon AC had taken the lead ahead of Mike Davies and Glyn Price – both from Sarn Helen. First placed lady was Dee Jolly, also from Sarn Helen.

Descending from Pen Dinas the runners make their way back towards the Promenade to pass by the starting position. Passing (flying) through in just under 31 minutes Austin Davies was on his own and with a substantial lead. The thin glimmer of a new course record looked possible – but with 2 miles and Constitution Hill lying ahead it would be a challenge.



Other runners began to race by – Mike Davies and Glyn Price were holding their positions and behind them a cohort of fellow Sarn Helen Runners and the first of the Aberystwyth AC team, Norman Biggs.



Looking up we make out Austin's figure as he completed his ascent. Still running.

The trickle of runners became a stream and out of the bodies heading towards the climb came Austin Davies. Finishing over four minutes ahead of the next runner in an outstanding 44:14 Austin beat his own course best set in 2010 by 49 seconds – but this was not enough to topple the course record held by Andres Jones.

Coming home first in the Ladies race was Dee Jolly of Sarn Helen in a time of 59:48 – the only woman to finish in under an hour.

Main Results Highlights are: <u>Men's Race</u> 1st – Austin Davies – Brecon AC – 44:14 2<sup>nd</sup> – Michael Davies – Sarn Helen – 48:18 3<sup>rd</sup> – Glyn Price – Sarn Helen – 48:23 <u>Ladies Race</u>  $1^{st}$  – Dee Jolly – Sarn Helen – 59:48  $2^{nd}$  – Julia Tello Vela Mazan – 1:00:24  $3^{rd}$  – Sian Roberts-Jones – 1:02:29

<u>Age Category Winners – Men</u> V40 – Andrew Abbott – Sarn Helen – 49:52 V50 – John Lyden – Ludlow Harriers – 55:16 V60 – John Gwynne Evans – Aberystwyth AC – 1:02:36

<u>Age Category Winners – Ladies</u> V35 – Helen Hashe – 1:04:59 V45 – Helen Willoughby – Sarn Helen – 1:04:51 V65 – Marj Griffiths – Bro Dysynni – 1:35:32 V75 – Sheila Symonds – Bro Dysynni – 2:07:46

## Team Prizes.

As a team Sarn Helen had an outstanding day. With ten runners representing the club they took up four of the top five places in the men's race and three of the top five place in the ladies race; and so the Team prizes were deservedly won by Sarn Helen Runners.

Michael Davies Glyn Price Andrew Abbot

Dee Jolly Sian Roberts- Jones Helen Willoughby

## Town vs Gown Competition

The Town vs Gown competition is held between runners from Aberystwyth AC and the University Harriers. They compete for the Dolphin Trophy provided by our sponsor – Dolphin Restaurant. This year the Trophy was regained by Aberystwyth AC team winning on aggregate time by a margin of over 42 minutes

Norman Biggs – 50:18 Arthur Brown – 53:37 Dan Burgess – 53:54 Ian Evans – 54:31



## **Special Mentions**



Best not look	
there isn't a chair to sit on	
Best view of the day	

And they all departed with goody bags. And the sun went down And the clouds rolled over And the rain fell. And tradition was maintained.