Newsletter Signup Button

Run The Bridge | 31 March 2013

A beautiful sunny but chilly morning greeted the runners of the Run the Bridge 5 mile road race event from Runcorn Bridge to Hale Village.  Over 800 runners entered the annual event on Easter Sunday, with over a 100 competitors signing up on the day.

The iconic Silver Jubilee Bridge once again provided the back drop for the 14th annual race organised by Halton and Hale Road Race Committee and Halton Borough Council.    Spectators gathered along the route and in Hale Park to cheer friends and relatives across the finish line.

The Mayor of Halton, Tom McInerny presented the fastest male John Mccole from Liverpool Harriers with his trophy for completing the race in just 25:47 and the Colin McKenzie from Halton Haven Hospice presented the trophy to the fastest female Kirsty Longley from Liverpool Pembroke & Sefton H AC in 29:18 .  The fastest male team this year went to Liverpool Harriers, and the fastest female team was Penny Lane Striders.  Many took part to raise money for the nominated charity Halton Haven Hospice.

Ciaran Clotworthy, Events Manager for Halton Haven Hospice “It was a great turn out for this friendly local race and we saw some familiar faces supporting the hospice again.  Thanks to everyone who has raised money in sponsorship – seeing everyone in the Haven colours in their finishers t-shirts at the end certainly made an impact! “

Organisers would like to thank all the volunteers that helped make it happen, without them it would not be possible.  There was a free cup of tea and hot cross bun provided by ASDA and a T-shirt for all finishers provided by Halton Housing Trust.  Full race results can be found on


1          679      00:25:47          John     Mccole          M         Sen      Liverpool Harriers       00:25:47      1              00:25:47

2          748      00:26:28          James  Mcnally          M         Sen      Penny Lane Striders    00:26:28     2              00:26:28

3          741      00:26:48          Martin Swensson      M         Sen      Penny Lane Striders    00:26:48     3              00:26:48


1          649             00:29:18          Kirsty   Longley            F          35        Liverpool Pembroke & Sefton H AC       20         00:29:18

2          447             00:29:25          GemmaConnolly         F          Sen      St Helens Sutton AC                                   23            00:29:25

3          180             00:30:10          Sarah   Griffiths           F          Sen      Leigh Harriers AC                                      36            00:30:09


Under 17         Thomas Walsh            00:33:22

Junior              Jamie White                00:28:41

40+                  Alan Ashton                 00:27:28

45+                  Peter Brame               00:28:32

50+                  Colin Bishop                00:29:03  (also winner of this category in 2012)

55+                  Colin Martin                00:30:05

60+                  Graham Webster        00:31:35

65+                  Michael Whiteside      00:34:56

70+                  Ian Hilditch                  00:42:46

75+                  Gordon Brown             00:41:15  (also winner of this category in 2012)


Under 17         Emma-Louise  Pyatt    00:34:00

Junior              Ellie Darby                  00:39:51    (also winner of this category in 2012)

35+                  Kirsty Longley              00:29:18

40+                  Shirley Anderson         00:33:34  (also winner of this category in 2012)

45+                  Jo Hardman                 00:36:44

50+                  Lesley Harrington       00:40:15

55+                  Debbie Read               00:38:38

60+                  Rosemary Rogers        00:36:03  (also winner of this category in 2012)

65+                  Jeanie Cliff                  00:47:54  (also winner of this category in 2012)

70+                  Dorothy Fairhurst        00:45:54  (also winner of this category in 2012)

More Like This:

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




Facebook Twitter YouTube